top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCCA

CCA welcomes new cohort of summer interns

Each summer, the Canadian Cattle Association (CCA) along with its divisions, Beef Cattle Research Council (BCRC), Canadian Roundtable Sustainable Beef (CRSB) and Canfax, hire summer interns to assist in a wide variety of projects during the summer. The internships aim to help students learn about the beef industry, CCA, and about the variety of projects each CCA division is working on. Additionally, interns have the opportunity to expand their networks and build both personal and technical skills that will assist them as they enter into their careers. Interns also have the opportunity to attend the Canadian Beef Industry Conference (CBIC), meetings and other industry events.


We are excited to introduce you to our interns for this summer!


Erin Hughes - BCRC

My name is Erin Hughes, and I am from a commercial cow-calf operation in Longview, AB. I was a member of the Longview 4-H Beef Club for nine years. I just finished up my diploma in Agriculture Management with a major in commerce from Olds College, and I will be attending the University of Saskatchewan in the fall to get a degree in Agribusiness. This summer, I am an intern with the BCRC and I will be assisting their extension team on a variety of projects. My goals for my internship include learning more about all that the BCRC does, research that is going on right now in the industry, and growing my network and connections within this industry. This summer I am overall most looking forward to having the opportunity to learn from and connect with leaders in the beef industry!



Cailey Church – CRSB

My name is Cailey Church, and I am the CRSB intern for a second summer. I lived on a mixed cattle and grain operation for most of my childhood near Airdrie, AB. Moving into the city shifted my agriculture involvement to 4-H and helping at close family farms whenever I could. I am currently going into my final year of an animal science degree at the University of Saskatchewan (U of S). I am the past president of the U of S Beef Team where I was able to help students find learning and networking opportunities within the industry.


This summer, I will be working closely with the Comms and Marketing team at the CRSB by taking over the social media accounts, website related tasks, and helping at the Stampede Cattle Trail, to name a few. My main goal for this summer is to take every opportunity available to me and find new ones to get a better idea of what I want to do as I finish up my schooling. I am most looking forward to furthering my connections and learning as much as I can from industry champions at CCA and beyond. I am excited to meet new people and reconnect with those I met last summer.



Ashley Jones – Canfax

I am from Vermilion AB, I am currently in my third year of an Animal Science Degree at the University of Saskatchewan. I was involved with cattle through 4H and helping producers around my area. My role for my summer is the Canfax Research Summer Intern. My goal for the summer is to gain experience with data analysis and learn more about the beef industry. I am most looking forward to seeing a different side of the industry with data information, markets, and trends.




Julie Sharp – CCA


My name is Julie Sharp, and the Summer Intern at CCA. Hailing from Lacombe, Alberta, my deep-rooted connection to agriculture stems from my family's involvement in raising purebred black Angus cattle. Currently, I am pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Agriculture at the University of Saskatchewan majoring in Animal Science and minoring in Agribusiness. Throughout this summer, I will have the opportunity to engage in a wide range of projects at CCA. I will be actively involved in supporting projects for the Canadian Cattle Young Leaders (CYL) program, providing assistance to the Environmental Stewardship Award initiative, and contributing to various communications projects. By actively involving myself in these endeavors, my aim is to deepen my knowledge of CCA, gain insights into its lobbying efforts on behalf of beef producers in Canada, and familiarize myself with its operating divisions. This summer, I am looking forward to being involved in the execution of the CYL Spring Forum. I look forward to helping facilitate this event. Additionally, I am excited about the tours planned for the CYL group, as they offer a unique chance to witness the practical aspects of the industry and to listen to some of the speakers we have planned!

122 views0 comments
bottom of page