top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCCA

Summer in review: Serving the beef industry as CCA’s summer intern


By Emma Cross


The Canadian Cattlemen’s Association summer internship program is an outstanding opportunity for young cattle enthusiasts to learn and network within the industry. While I am so grateful for what this experience has offered me personally, above all, I am honored to have been able to support and advocate for my fellow producers over the past four months.

Since childhood, I have considered my future as a beef producer non-negotiable. I grew up a purebred Hereford breeder and have since started my own operation, which I aim to expand and diversify into the commercial cow-calf sector. As a fourth-year student at the University of Saskatchewan, I have chosen to combine studies in Animal Science and Professional Communication. My time at CCA has tied this all together by teaching me how I can apply my producer perspective, as well as the communication tools and knowledge I’ve gained at school, to best serve Canadian cattle producers.


Over the summer, I have come to appreciate the practical value that communications have in providing producers the resources they need and in sharing their perspective with government and industry stakeholders. The best example of this during my internship has been the drought plaguing producers from British Columbia to Ontario. As a producer, I felt firsthand the stress of watching our grass dry up and our dugouts drop, as well as the feeling of powerlessness to fix it.


But as an intern, I was able to take action by dispersing information on support programming and feed and water resources to producers, as well as participating in developing lobbying strategies. I watched CCA’s efforts turn into tangible benefits for producers, and I came to realize that the role of communications is far more active than simply putting together content. Being a part of the CCA team working for producers during this natural disaster has meant a great deal to me and has inspired me to continue applying my skills and knowledge to benefit the industry in the future.


During the past four months, I have also assisted the Verified Beef Production Plus team. My work with VBP+ has ranged from refining producer training materials to tackling a major revamp of the communications strategy. Throughout the summer, I have been so impressed by the team’s dedication to making VBP+ work for the industry. Thanks to the trust they placed in me to dive into projects independently, I have learned to use tools like social media to offer practical value to producers.


I have also been fortunate to assist with event planning and communications for the Cattlemen’s Young Leaders and Young Cattlemen’s Council. These tasks have allowed me to meet other young producers who share my passion for cattle and appreciate the value that these programs have in encouraging youth to engage in our industry. It was a treat to participate in events like media training and the YCC AGM to become a better “ag-vocate”, and I hope to stay involved with both programs in the future.


Policy research and government relations were other areas I explored this summer. It was rewarding to analyze industry-relevant policy to help inform meetings that would produce tangible lobbying outcomes. As well, meeting with MPs during virtual fly-ins and on the ground at a farm tour emphasized to me the importance of CCA’s government relations in creating ongoing relationships that foster practical benefits for producers.


Before coming to CCA, my favorite part of the beef industry was the sense of community, and I am pleased to say that has only been reinforced. I am amazed at how seamlessly CCA’s various operating divisions and board work with each other to serve producers. It was a true pleasure to work with CCA staff and board members and be welcomed into the family-like environment of the CCA office. I can’t thank these folks enough for their ongoing mentorship and lasting friendships.


While this summer has flown by, as the saying goes, “it’s not goodbye, it’s see you later”. My time at CCA over the past four months has sent me down a clear path within the beef industry, and I look forward to the opportunities that lie ahead for me to apply communications to serve producers.

65 views0 comments
bottom of page